Eddie Rabbitt

Listen for free or download any Eddie Rabbitt track for just 12 cents per song!

Eddie Rabbitt Singer

New Jersey's Eddie Rabbitt was another country music to Billboard Chart cross-over artist from the early 1980's.  Technically, Edward Thomas Rabbitt started his music career long before the 1980's.  Rabbitt grew up laying the guitar, and by 1964, he landed his first record deal and subsequently moved to Nashville.  By the early 1970's, Rabbit found himself composing hit songs for artists like Elvis Presley and Ronnie Milsap.

By the mid to late 1970's, Rabbitt was releasing his own hit songs, including "You Get to Me", "Pure Love", "Drinkin' My Baby (Off My Mind)", "Forgive and Forget", "I Should Have Married You", "Hearts on Fire", "You Don't Love Me Anymore", "I Just Want to Love You", "Poor Me Another Tequila", and two other songs that crossed over to the Billboard Top 40 charts:  "Every Which Way But Loose" and "Suspicions" .

As the 80's rolled in, Eddie continued his cross-over success, even landing a no. 1 US Country and no. 1 US Billboard song at the same time:  "I Love a Rainy Night" from Horizon.  This album also featured the Top 5 Billboard chart hit "Drivin' My Life Away".  Throughout the 1980's, Rabbitt continued producing US Country hit after hit.  We won't mention them all here, but we will mention those songs that charted in both US Country Top 40 and Billboard Top 40:  "Step by Step", "Someone Could Lose a Heart Tonight", "I Don't Know Where to Start", and "You and I" with Crystal Gale".

Although Eddie Rabbitt did have a few hits into the 1990's, he had essentially curtailed his music career by then.  He died in 1998 of lung cancer.  Rabbitt was a good role model, involved in many charitable organizations, and known as a conservative republican.  The Eddie Rabbitt Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any Eddie Rabbitt track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1975: Eddie Rabbitt
  • 1976: Rocky Mountain Music
  • 1977: Rabbitt
  • 1978: Variations
  • 1979: Loveline
  • 1979: The Best of Eddie Rabbitt
  • 1980: Horizon
  • 1981: Step by Step
  • 1982: Radio Romance
  • 1983: Greatest Hits Vol 2
  • 1984: The Best Year of My Life
  • 1985: Number Ones
  • 1986: Rabbitt Trax
  • 1988: I Wanna Dance With You
  • 1989: The Greatest Hits of Eddie Rabbitt
  • 1990: Jersey Boy
  • 1991: Ten Rounds
  • 1991: Ten Years of Greatest Hits
  • 1997: Beatin' the Odds
  • 1998: Songs from Rabbittland
  • 2003: Essentials
  • 2009: Number One Hits