Randy Travis

Listen for free or download any Randy Travis track for just 12 cents per song!

Randy Travis Singer

Randy Bruce Traywick, aka Randy Travis, was a very popular country artist in the 1980's.  For that reason, we give him honorable mention here, although technically he did not have any cross over Billboard hits until years later.  Travis had an early interest in music, picking up the guitar at the ripe old age of 8 and singing at church.  Within a few years, he was performing with his brother in a group called The Traywick Brothers.  After a tumultuous adolescence that involved many brushes with the law, Travis began to straighten out, and in 1978, he released a self-titled album (called Randy Traywick).

Although his first release was not successful, Travis kept at it.  By the early 80's, Travis had landed a record deal, and he changed his stage name from Randy Ray to Randy Travis.  Although many of you will remember the song "Forever and Ever, Amen" from his 1987 album, Always and Forever, Travis had a number of other 80's hits:  "1982", "On the Other Hand", "Diggin' Up Bones", "No Place Like Home", "I Won't Need You Anymore (Always and Forever)", "Too Gone Too Long", "I Told You So", "Honky Tonk Moon", "Deeper than the Holler", "Is It Still Over?", "Promises", and "It's Just a Matter of Time".

Randy Travis continued rolling out the country hits well into the 1990's and beyond.  By the 2000's, Travis had switched from mainstream country to gospel, where he continued to be very successful.  In 2012, Travis was in the news after being found lying naked and drunk in the middle of the road...not sure what else to say about that.  In 2013 he suffered a medical condition that left him in pretty bad shape, but last we heard, he was on the road to recovery.  The Randy Travis Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any Randy Travis track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1982: Randy Ray: Live at the Nashville Palace
  • 1986: Storms of Life
  • 1987: Always & Forever
  • 1988: Old 8×10
  • 1989: No Holdin' Back
  • 1989: An Old Time Christmas
  • 1990: Heroes & Friends
  • 1991: High Lonesome
  • 1992: Greatest Hits, Volume 1
  • 1992: Greatest Hits, Volume 2
  • 1993: Wind in the Wire
  • 1994: This Is Me
  • 1995: Forever & Ever...The Best of Randy Travis
  • 1996: Full Circle
  • 1998: You and You Alone
  • 1998: Greatest #1 Hits
  • 1999: A Man Ain't Made of Stone
  • 2000: Inspirational Journey
  • 2000: Super Hits, Volume 1
  • 2001: Live: It Was Just a Matter of Time
  • 2002: Trail of Memories: The Randy Travis Anthology
  • 2002: Rise and Shine
  • 2003: Worship & Faith
  • 2003: The Essential Randy Travis
  • 2004: The Very Best of Randy Travis
  • 2004: Passing Through
  • 2005: Glory Train: Songs of Faith, Worship, and Praise
  • 2007: Songs of the Season
  • 2008: Around the Bend
  • 2009: I Told You So: The Ultimate Hits of Randy Travis
  • 2009: Three Wooden Crosses: The Inspirational Hits of Randy Travis
  • 2010: I'll Fly Away
  • 2011: Randy Travis
  • 2011: Anniversary Celebration
  • 2013: Influence Vol. 1: The Man I Am