Listen for free or download any AC/DC track for just 12 cents per song!

ACDC Hair Metal Band

AC/DC, an Australian band that was formed around 1973 by brothers Malcolm and Angus Young, hit the international rock scene in the mid 1970's. They began gaining international notoriety by touring with bands such as Styx, Kiss, Aerosmith, Black Sabbath, Cheap Trick, and Blue Oyster Cult. AC/DC was a high energy band that seemed to stick around longer than an old piece of petrified wood, and their sound changed little over the years.  AC/DC is clearly on the short list of iconic rock bands that have generated an odd assortment of memorabilia, such as t-shirts for dogs, coffee mugs, and dress ties. An interesting fact: In their home country, AC/DC is affectionately known as "Acca Dacca". Rumor has it that the band's name was originally taken from the back of a sewing machine.

In the early days, all band members dressed up in over-the-top outfits, but as the years went on, it was only Angus who stuck with the school boy tie and shorts. Months after the release one of their most notorious albums (Highway to Hell), lead singer Bon Scott asphyxiated after a heavy night of drinking. The band quickly bounced back with new singer, Brian Johnson, and released the famous album Back in Black (1980). At the time of this writing, the only album that had sold more copies than Back in Black was Michael Jackson's Thriller. The band AC/DC released something like 13+ albums over the years, and at time of this writing, AC/DC was still cranking out music on tour. Some of our favorite classic AC/DC songs include "Back in Black," "For Those About to Rock," and "You Shook Me All Night Long." They continued to produce well into the 2000's and beyond.

As of this writing, the AC/DC Discography was as follows:

Listen for free or download any AC/DC track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1976: High Voltage
  • 1976: Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap
  • 1977: Let There Be Rock
  • 1978: Powerage
  • 1979: Highway to hell
  • 1980: Back in Black
  • 1981: For Those About to Rock We Salute You
  • 1983: Flick of the Switch
  • 1985: Fly on the Wall
  • 1988: Blow Up Your Video
  • 1990: The Razor's Edge
  • 1995: Ballbreaker
  • 2000: Stiff Upper Lip
  • 2008: Black Ice