Listen for free or download any Asia track for just 12 cents per song!

Asia Band

The band Asia was made up of veteran rockers that formed in Great Britain in 1981 (including former members of Yes, Uriah Heap, Emerson, Lake & Palmer).  Early recordings of the band, under the guidance of David Geffen, disappointed fans based on their radio friendly rock sound, but in our opinion, this is what made Asia such a great band.  

Asia's first album (self-titled) was released in 1982, an album that featured the two top 40 hit songs they are probably most known for, "Only Time Will Tell" and "Heat of the Moment".  Other songs from this album that you may remember include "Sole Survivor", "Wildest Dreams", and "Hear Comes the Feeling".  MTV gave Asia videos heavy rotation, and the band received a Grammy for best new artist of the year.

Their follow-up album, Alpha (1983), did not do as well as their initial effort, but still charted at number 6 and featured two top 40 hits:  "Don't Cry" and "The Smile Has Left Your Eyes".  As the 80's rolled on, band turnover was in full swing.  Although subsequent releases featured some great songs, Asia's heyday was over.  Their 1985 release, Astra, did feature the song called "Go", which charted at 46 and featured Mandy Meyer of Krokus on guitar.  Asia did reunite in 1990 and released a single called "Days Like These" that received decent air play. 

As the years have gone on, Asia could be found both in the studio and on tour.  True fans of Asia should definitely check out the multi CD box set called Anthology.  All of the greatest hits compilations are great!  The Archiva Volumes listed below are old school un-released material.  At the time of this writing, the Asia Discography was as follows:

Listen for free or download any Asia track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1982: Asia
  • 1983: Alpha
  • 1985: Astra
  • 1990: Then & Now
  • 1992: Aqua
  • 1994: Aria
  • 1996: Arena
  • 1996: Archiva Vol 1
  • 1996: Archiva Vol 2
  • 1999: Rare
  • 1999: Live at the Country Club
  • 2000: The Very Best of Asia: Heat of the Moment (1992-1990)
  • 2001: Aura
  • 2004: Silent Nation
  • 2007: Fantasia Live in Tokyo
  • 2008: Phoenix
  • 2012: Omega
  • 2012: XXX