Bob Seger

Listen for free or download any Bob Seger track for just 12 cents per song!

Bob Seger Band

Robert Clark "Bob" Seger hailed from Michigan.  Initially, Seger was a member of several early 60's bands, including The Decibels, The Town Criers, and Doug Brown and the Omens.  In the mid 1960's, Seger's first solo band was known as Bob Seger and the Last Heard, then later as the Bob Seger System.  It was not until 1973 that the he put together the Silver Bullet Band.  Fans of Bob Seger probably already know that the song "Ramblin' Gamblin' Man" was Seger's first attributable hit prior to his solo effort.

The first release as Bob Seger and the Silver Bullet Band was an album called Seven (1974).  Some of you may remember the song "Get Out of Denver" from this album.  Beautiful Loser was released in 1975 and featured the hit songs "Katmandu" and "Nutbush City Limits".  Some of you may also be aware of the critical acclaim that the band's 1976 live album release, Live Bullet, received.  However, it was the Bob Seger's1976 release, Night Moves, that began to gain them greater notoriety, in thanks to the title track hit song.  Other hits from this album included "Mainstreet" and "Rock and Roll Never Forgets".  Night Moves was Seger's first album to break the Billboard Top 10.

In 1978, Seger released Stranger in Town, which featured the hit songs "Still the Same", Hollywood Nights, and "We've Got Tonight", and "Old Time Rock and Roll" (the song Tom Cruise danced to in Risky Business).  In 1980, Against the Wind was released, which ultimately became his first and only album to chart at number 1 (Billboard Charts).  Other hits from the album other than the title track included "Fire Lake" and "You'll Accomp'ny Me".  This album earned Bob Seger two Grammy Awards.

As the 80's rolled on, Seger's continued to produce.  Although later releases did match early success, there are still a number of hit songs you may still remember from this decade:  "Tryin' to Live My Life Without You", "Like a Rock", "Shame on the Moon", "Even Now", "Roll Me Away", "Making Thunderbirds", "Living Inside My Heart", "Understanding", "Shakedown", and "American Storm".  Not too shabby.

By 1991, Bob Seger decided to go on hiatus.  He spent the next 10 years raising a family.  It wasn't until 2006 that Seger released any new material (Face the Promise), which stayed on the Billboard Charts for several months.  At the time of this writing in late 2012, Seger was still active in the music industry.  The Bob Seger Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any Bob Seger track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1969: Noah
  • 1970: Mongrel
  • 1971: Brand New Morning
  • 1972: Smokin' O.P.'s
  • 1973: Back in '72
  • 1974: Seven
  • 1975: Beautiful Loser
  • 1976: Night Moves
  • 1976: Live Bullet
  • 1978: Stranger in Town
  • 1980: Against the Wind
  • 1981: Nine Tonight Live
  • 1982: The Distance
  • 1986: Like a Rock
  • 1991: The Fire Inside
  • 1994: Bob Seger Greatest Hits
  • 1995: It's a Mystery
  • 2003: Bob Seger Greatest Hits 2
  • 2006: Face the Promise
  • 2009: Early Seger Vol 1
  • 2011: Ultimate Hits: Rock and Roll Never Forgets