Pink Floyd

Listen for free or download any Pink Floyd track for just 12 cents per song!

Pink Floyd Band

The roots of England's Pink Floyd can be traced back to the early 1960's, when future members of Pink Floyd played together in a band called Sigma 6.  After several iterations of the band, and name changes, they initially settled on Tea Set.  It was in 1965 that they first referred to themselves as the Pink Floyd Sound.  The name is actually a combination of first names from two blue's performers, Pink Anderson and Floyd Council.

By 1967, Pink Floyd had a record deal, and their first album, The Piper at the Gates of Dawn, was released the same year.  They had a couple of early hits in the UK with the songs "Arnold Layne" and "See Emily Play".  In 1976, the band scored a top 20 hit with the song "Money", released on The Dark Side of the Moon.  It was their 1979 release, The Wall, which featured the international hit song "Another Brick in the Wall", which charted at no. 1 in 7 countries.  The album also spawned the film. 

Pink Floyd released two albums in the 1980's which featured a number of charting songs in the US rock charts.  "Not Now John" and "Your Possible Pasts" were released on The Final Cut (1983), and "Learning to Fly", "On the Turning Away", and "One Slip" where released on A Momentary Lapse of Reason (1987).  Some of you will also remember the song "Comfortably Numb" from the 1988 live album Delicate Sound of Thunder.

Pink Floyd's last new studio release was The Division Bell in 1994.  In the 2005, Pink Floyd performed again together on state for the first time in 24 years.  Although some former members have performed together sense, the band Pink Floyd is no longer active as far as live performances go.  Perhaps this could change.  The Pink Floyd Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any Pink Floyd track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1967: The Piper at the Gates of Dawn
  • 1967: The First Three Singles
  • 1968: A Saucerful of Secrets
  • 1969: More
  • 1969: Ummagumma
  • 1970: Atom Heart Mother
  • 1970: The Best of the Pink Floyd
  • 1971: Meddle
  • 1972: Obscured by Clouds
  • 1973: The Dark Side of the Moon
  • 1974: A Nice Pair
  • 1974: Masters of Rock
  • 1975: Wish You Were Here
  • 1977: Animals
  • 1979: The Wall
  • 1981: A Collection of Great Dance Songs
  • 1983: Works
  • 1983: The Final Cut
  • 1987: A Momentary Lapse of Reason
  • 1988: Delicate Sound of Thunder
  • 1988: The Box 1975-1988
  • 1992: Shine On
  • 1994: The Division Bell
  • 1995: Pulse
  • 2000: Is There Anybody Out There? The Wall Live 1980–81
  • 2001: Echoes: The Best of Pink Floyd
  • 2007: Oh, by the Way
  • 2011: The Best of Pink Floyd: A Foot in the Door