Information Society

Listen for free or download any Information Society track for just 12 cents per song!

Information Society Band

Information Society (aka InSoc) hailed from Minnesota and first formed in 1982.  The band's name was essentially a derivative of the word "ingsoc", a reference to British socialism as demonstrated in the George Orwell book Nineteen Eighty-Four.  In 1983, Information Society self-released two albums, The InSoc EP and Creatures of Influence.  In 1985, the band released the single "Running", which became a hit in the New York City dance scene.

The success of "Running" brought the band from Minneapolis to New York City, where they landed a major record deal and released their first self-titled debut in 1988.  Many of you will remember the song "What's On Your Mind (Pure Energy)" and "Walking Away" from that album.  Another song worth mentioning from this album was the cover of ABBA's "Lay All You Love on Me".  Although their follow up release, Hack (1990) was not nearly as successful, it did feature the hits "Think" and "How Long".

As the years have gone by, Information Society has continued to produce new material and tour from time to time, although their 1988 debut was definitely their heyday.  The current Information Society Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any Information Society track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1983: The InSoc EP
  • 1984: Creatures of Influence
  • 1988: Information Society
  • 1990: Hack
  • 1992: Peace and Love, Inc.
  • 1997: Don't Be Afraid
  • 1999: InSoc Recombinant
  • 2001: strange haircuts // cardboard guitars // and computer samples
  • 2004: Pure Energy
  • 2007: Oscillator
  • 2007: Synthesizer
  • 2008: Don't Be Afraid
  • 2008: Apocryphon: Electro Roots 1982-1985
  • 2009: Modulator
  • 2011: Energize! Classic Remixes, Vol. 1