Midnight Oil

Listen for free or download any Midnight Oil track for just 12 cents per song!

Midnight Oil Band

With the price of gas these days, we don't care what time of the day they drill.  The roots of Midnight Oil can be traced back to 1972, when some Australian chums created a band called Farm.  By the mid 1970's, they were becoming a well known band, and after changing their name to Midnight Oil (after the Jimi Hendrix song "Burning of the Midnight Lamp"), they started a more aggressive, punk rock sound.

Midnight Oil debuted in Australia in 1978 with a self-titled release.  Although this first release met with some success, it was their relentless Australian touring that came them in the public eye.  They began finding Australian chart success in the early 1980's with the release of Place Without a Postcard (1981) and 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1. (1982).  You Aussies will remember these albums for songs like "Don't Wanna Be the One", "Armistice Date", "Power and the Passion", and "US Forces".  Red Sails in the Sunset (1984), another Aussie release, was also a success.  As time wore on, the band's message became more and more politically motivated.

Midnight Oil's international success came with the release of Diesel and Dust (1987), which featured a number of hit songs, including "Beds are Burning", "The Dead Heart", and "Put Down That Weapon".  Their 1990 release, Blue Sky Mining, was also an international success, featuring the songs "Blue Sky Mine" and "Forgotten Years".  Midnight Oil continued producing well into the 1990's and beyond ,and although they met with some Australian chart success post 1990, the heyday was over.  The band has split and reunited from time to time.  The Midnight Oil Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any Midnight Oil track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1978: Midnight Oil
  • 1979: Head Injuries
  • 1980: Bird Noises
  • 1981: Place without a Postcard
  • 1982: 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1
  • 1984: Red Sails in the Sunset
  • 1985: Species Deceases
  • 1986: The Dead Heart
  • 1987: Diesel and Dust
  • 1990: Blue Sky Mining
  • 1992: Scream in Blue: Live
  • 1993: Earth and Sun and Moon
  • 1996: Breathe
  • 1997: 20,000 Watt R.S.L.: Collection
  • 1998: Redneck Wonderland
  • 2000: The Real Thing
  • 2002: Capricornia
  • 2004: Best of Both Worlds
  • 2006: Flat Chat
  • 2012: Essential Oils