Listen for free or download any A-HA track for just 12 cents per song!

A-HA Band

The Norwegian band A-ha formed way back in 1982 (initially as a band called Bridges).  The band name of A-ha was chosen after kicking around some ideas.  After some time, they decided to move from Norway to London to pursue a career in music.  They hooked up with a management team that began trying to sell the band to Warner Brothers.

A-ha's first release, in 1985, was the album Hunting High and Low.  This album featured the hit song "Take On Me", in addition to the hit song "The Sun Always Shines on TV".  "Take On Me" was re-recorded several times in earlier versions and demos.  The song was initially called "The Juicy Fruit Song", and after a re-recording and a hit MTV music video, "Take On Me" charted at no. 1 in the USA and no. 2 in the UK.  Not only was A-ha the first Norwegian band to have a number 1 song in the USA, but also one of the few honky bands to play on Soul Train (in 1985).  The video for the song won the band multiple awards.  Although many in the USA consider A-ha a one hit wonder, they actually held greater popularity in the UK.  Two additional hit songs in the UK from their initial album were the title track ("Hunting High and Low") and "Train of Thought".

In 1986, A-ha released Scoundrel Days.  Although this album was not as big a hit as their 1985 album, it did to well internationally.  Some of you may remember the hit song "Cry Wolf" from this album.  Stay On These Roads was released in 1988 and featured the title track to the James Bond movie The Living Daylights.  In 1990, A-ha released East of the Sun, West of the Moon.  Although their popularity in the USA was quickly waning, their popularity in other countries, like Brazil, was exploding.  The band holds the record for the largest paying audience to attend a show (198,000 attended a show in Brazil in 1991).  After the release of Memorial Beach in 1983, A-ha decided to take a break as a group and pursue solo careers.    

Since their 80's heyday, A-ha has reunited to not only produce new music, but to also perform on stage.  They have had several no. 1 hits post 1999.  By 2010, A-ha had decided to call it quits after a world tour.  At the time of this writing, the A-ha Discography was as follows:

Listen for free or download any A-HA track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1985: Hunting High and Low
  • 1986: Scoundrel Days
  • 1988: Stay on These Roads
  • 1989: On Tour in Brazil
  • 1989: Best in Brazil
  • 1989: A-ha en Argentina
  • 1990: East of the Sun, West of the Moon
  • 1991: Headlines and Deadlines - The Hits of A-ha
  • 1993: Memorial Beach
  • 2000: Minor Earth Major Sky
  • 2001: A-ha Live at Vallhall - Homecoming Grimstad Benefit Concert
  • 2001: Minor Earth Major Box
  • 2002: Lifelines
  • 2002: A-ha Tour Brasil - Agosto 2002
  • 2003: How Can I Sleep With Your Voice in My Head
  • 2004: The Singles: 1984-2004
  • 2005: Analogue
  • 2005: The Definitive Singles Collection 1984-2004
  • 2005: A-ha Trilogy: Three Classic Albums
  • 2008: A-ha live at Vallhall - Sight & Sound series CD & DVD Set
  • 2009: Foot of the Mountain
  • 2010: Hunting High and Low Deluxe Edition
  • 2010: Scoundrel Days Deluxe Edition
  • 2010: 25
  • 2011: Ending on a High Note - The Final Concert