Belinda Carlisle

Listen for free or download any Belinda Carlisle track for just 12 cents per song!

Belinda Carlisle Singer

Before Belinda Jo Carlisle became a solo artist, she was the lead singer for the famous all-girl band The Go-Go's.  Carlisle was born in Hollywood and grew up in Thousand Oaks, CA.  Her first stint into music was as a drummer for a punk band called The Germs, and later as a backup singer for a band called Black Randy and the Metrosquad.  After leaving The Germs, Carlisle co-founded the Misfits, who later changed their name to The Go Go's.  The Go Go's were one of the most successful New Wave American bands of the early 1980's.

In 1985, The Go-Go's broke up, and Carlisle began a solo career.  The only former Go-Go to remain on her roster was Charlotte Caffey.  Belinda Carlisle's first solo album, titled Belinda, was released in 1986.  The song "Mad About You" from this release peaked at No. 3 in the USA and No. 1 in Canada.  Carlisle's follow up release,  Heaven on Earth (1987), featured the hit song "Heaven is a Place on Earth", which was also a chart topper around the world.  You may also remember the hit songs "I Get Weak", "World Without You", "Love Never Dies", and "Circle in the Sand" from this same album.  her last release for the 80's was 1989's Runaway Horses.  Although the album did not do as well in the USA as it did in other countries such as Germany and Australia, it did include two top 40 hits in the USA:  "Leave a Light On" and "Summer Rain".  "La Luna" and "We Want the Same Thing" were also songs from this release that did well in the UK.

As the 1990's rolled on, Belinda Carlisle continued her popular streak in Europe.  Not only could she be found in the studio, but on stage as well.  In 2001, The Go-Go's reunited temporarily, and then Carlisle continued her solo career well into the 2000's.  At the time of this writing, Carlisle could be found on stage with 80's bands like The Human League, Howard Jones, Alphaville, Kim Wilde, Naked Eyes, Boy George, ABC, Cutting Crew and Nik Kershaw.  The current Belinda Carlisle Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any Belinda Carlisle track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1986: Belinda
  • 1987: Heaven on Earth
  • 1989: Runaway Horses
  • 1991: Live Your Life Be Free
  • 1992: The Best of Belinda, Volume 1
  • 1993: Real
  • 1996: A Woman and a Man
  • 1999: A Place on Earth: The Greatest Hits
  • 2002: The Collection
  • 2007: Voila