Listen for free or download any America track for just 12 cents per song!

America Band

America was a bigger 1970's band than an 80's band, but as you will read, the band did have some early 80's hits.  America was actually formed in London by sons of American servicemen in the UK.  By the early 1970's, the band hand garnered the attention of radio execs, and their debut hit shelves in 1971.  After meeting with early success, the band decided to relocate themselves to Los Angeles.

America may be best known for their first hit song, "A Horse With No Name", which was released as a single and then re-released on a re-release of their first release (sound confusing?).  Of course America had several other notable 70's songs:  "I Need You" from America (1971), "Don't Cross the River", "Only in Your Heart", and "Ventura Highway" from Homecoming (1972), "Tin Man" and "Lonely People" from Holiday (1974), "Sister Golden Hair" and "Daisy Jane" from Hearts (1975), and "Today's the Day" from Holiday (1976).

In the 80's, America released 4 albums:  Alibi (1980),  View From the Ground (1982), Your Move (1983), and Perspective (1984).  Many of you may remember the songs "Right Before Your Eyes" & "You Can Do Magic" from 1982, and even "The Border" from 1983.  As the 80's  rolled on, America began popularizing their music to more closely match the music of the day, which essentially caused fewer album sales.  Although the band did not produce again until the mid 1990's, they continued to tour.  At the time of this writing in early 2013, America was still active on the tour circuit with a new studio release as late as 2011.  The current America Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any America track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1971: America
  • 1972: Homecoming
  • 1973: Hat Trick
  • 1974: Holiday
  • 1975: Hearts
  • 1975: History: America's Greatest Hits
  • 1976: Hideaway
  • 1977: Harbor
  • 1977: Live
  • 1979: Silent Letter
  • 1980: Alibi
  • 1982: View from the Ground
  • 1983: Your Move
  • 1984: Perspective
  • 1985: In Concert
  • 1991: Encore: More Greatest Hits
  • 1994: Hourglass
  • 1995: In Concert King Biscuit Live
  • 1996: King Biscuit Flower Hour
  • 1998: Human Nature
  • 2000: Highway
  • 2001: The Definitive America
  • 2001: The Complete Greatest Hits
  • 2002: The Grand Cayman Concert
  • 2002: Holiday Harmony
  • 2007: Here & Now
  • 2008: Live in Concert: Wildwood Springs
  • 2011: Back Pages