Steve Earle

Listen for free or download any Steve Earle track for just 12 cents per song!

Steve Earle Band

The Grammy Award winning Steve Earl started out as a songwriter in Nashville before releasing his EP in 1982.  Some of his songs have made their way onto the albums of big name country stars like Johnny Cash, Waylon Jennings, Vince Gill, and Travis Tritt.  With names like these, you would figure we would be including Earle in the country music section of this site, but if you remember his song "Copperhead Road" from 1988, then you will understand why we put him in the rock section of this site.

Earle's first release was Guitar Town in 1986, and the title track, as well as the song "Goodbye's All We've Got Left", both charted in the top 10 (US Country charts).  The song "Guitar Town" also charted at 20 on the US Main Rock charts.  His 1987 release, Exit 0, also did well with the hit songs "I Ain't Ever Satisfied", "Nowhere Road", and "Sweet Little ' 66".  It was his 1988 release with the song Copperhead Road that featured his more traditional folk sound with hard rock.  The song "Copperhead Road" would land at number 10 on the rock charts, and the song "Back to the Wall" at number 20.  Earle continued producing into the 1990's and well beyond, although his last charting song in the USA was in 1990.  At the time of this writing in 2016, Earle was still playing with his band Earle & the Dukes.  The Steve Earle Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any Steve Earle track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1986: Guitar Town
  • 1987: Exit 0
  • 1987: Early Tracks
  • 1988: Copperhead Road
  • 1990: The Hard Way
  • 1991: Shut Up and Die Like an Aviator
  • 1992: BBC Radio 1 Live in Concert
  • 1993: Essential Steve Earle
  • 1995: Train a Comin'
  • 1996: Ain't Ever Satisfied: The Steve Earle Collection
  • 1996: I Feel Alright
  • 1997: El Corazón
  • 1999: Angry Young Man: The Very Best of Steve Earle
  • 2000: Transcendental Blues
  • 2001: Together at the Bluebird Café
  • 2001: The Devil's Right Hand: An Introduction to Steve Earle
  • 2002: Side Tracks
  • 2002: The Collection
  • 2002: Jerusalem;
  • 2003: Just an American Boy
  • 2003: 20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection:  The Best of Steve Earle
  • 2004: Live from Austin, TX
  • 2004: The Revolution Starts Now
  • 2005: Live at Montreux 2005
  • 2007: Washington Square Serenade
  • 2009: Townes
  • 2011: I'll Never Get Out of This World Alive
  • 2013: The Low Highway
  • 2015: Terraplane