Listen for free or download any Yes track for just 12 cents per song!

Yes Band

Yes was probably more popular in the 1970's than the 1980's, but after reading this, we will jog your memory about their contributions to the 80's.  The band Yes formed way back in 1968 in England, but the roots of the band date further back to a band called Toyshop.  After filling in for Sly and the Family Stone after they were a no show at a London club, Yes caught the attention of the crowd and the band's music career began taking off.  By 1969, the band had inked a deal with Atlantic records, and their self-titled debut was released that year.

Yes' first few albums were a mix of cover tunes and new material.  Their third release, The Yes Album (1971), was the first to contain all original songs.  This album charted at at 4 in the UK and 40 in the USA (Billboard Top 200).  The band's follow up album, Fragile (also 1971), peaked at 7 in the UK and 4 in the USA (this was the album that featured the song "Roundabout").  The band continued releasing ambitious albums throughout the 1970's that both charted high and won the band awards.  You may remember the song "Soon" from Relayer (1974) and "Wonderous Stories" from Going for One (1976).

By 1979, artistic differences between band members began taking a toll.  Some of the members wanted to pursue a heavier rock sound for the band, while others, including the lead singer (Jon Anderson) preferred to continue down the same path they had been on for some time.  Tensions came to a head, and Jon Anderson left the band.  The remaining members of Yes invited members Geoff Downes and Trevor Horn of the band The Buggles ("Video Killed the Radio Star") to join Yes and Drama was released in 1980.  The album featured a heavier rock sound than previous Yes releases.  You may remember the song "Machine Messiah" form this album.  Yes broke up after this album, and Downes and Horn went on to form the band Asia.  Other members went on to solo projects are to join other bands.  One band formed from the break up of Yes by bassist Chris Squire and drummer Alan White, was called Cinema.  Jon Anderson was invited to sing for the band, and it was recommended that Cinema change their name to Yes.

Now that Yes was back in business, the progressive sound of the old days was replaced by a more polished rock sound that was typical for the time.  The band even moved to Los Angeles.  90125 was released in 1983 and became the band's best selling album.  You may remember the chart topping hit song "Owner of a Lonely Heart" from this album.  Big Generator followed in 1987 and featured the hit songs "Rhythm of Love", "Love Will Find a Way" and "Shoot High, Aim Low".  After this album, Anderson once again left the band.  He went on to join a band of Yes and Asia veterans called Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe.  You may remember the hit song "Brother of Mine" from this group (1989).

By 1991, Anderson was back singing for Yes for their release of Union.  The three singles released on this album all charted:  "Lift Me Up", "Saving My Heart", and "Make It Easy".  This was their last album to reach Gold status.  As the years have rolled on, Yes has continued producing and touring, although their heyday appears to be long since past.  At the time of this writing (2012), they were working on a new studio album with a new singer (Jon Davison).  The current Yes Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any Yes track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1969: Yes
  • 1970: Time and a Word
  • 1971: The Yes Album
  • 1971: Fragile
  • 1972: Close to the Edge
  • 1973: Tales from Topographic Oceans
  • 1973: Yessongs Live
  • 1974: Relayer
  • 1975: Yesterdays
  • 1977: Going for the One
  • 1978: Tormato
  • 1980: Drama
  • 1980: Yesshows Live
  • 1981: Classic Yes
  • 1983: 90125
  • 1985: 9012Live: The Solos
  • 1987: Big Generator
  • 1991: Union
  • 1991: Yesyears
  • 1992: Yesstory
  • 1993: Symphonic Music of Yes
  • 1993: Affirmative: The Yes Solo Family Album
  • 1993: Highlights: The Very Best of Yes
  • 1994: Talk
  • 1996: Keys to Ascension
  • 1997: Keys to Ascension 2
  • 1997: Open Your Eyes
  • 1997: Something's Coming: The BBC Recordings 1969-1970
  • 1998: Yes, Friends and Relatives
  • 1999: The Ladder
  • 1999: Astral Traveler
  • 2000: House of Yes: Live from the House of Blues
  • 2000: The Best of Yes
  • 2000: Yes Friends and Relatives Volume 2
  • 2001: Magnification
  • 2001: Keystudio
  • 2002: Extended Versions
  • 2002: Yestoday
  • 2002: In a Word: Yes (1969-)
  • 2002: Yes, Friends and Relatives: The Ultimate Collection
  • 2003: The Ultimate Yes: 35th Anniversary Collection
  • 2003: Yes Remixes
  • 2003: Yes & Friends
  • 2003: Essential Elements
  • 2004: (Re)Union
  • 2004: Topography
  • 2004: Owner of a Lonely Heart
  • 2005: The World is Live
  • 2005: The Solid Gold Collection
  • 2007: Live at Montreux 2003
  • 2007: The Definitive Rock Collection
  • 2007: Greatest Hits Live
  • 2007: Roundabout & Other Hits
  • 2009: Symphonic Live
  • 2009: Introducing Yes
  • 2011: Fly from Here
  • 2011: Union Live
  • 2011: In the Present - Live from Lyon
  • 2011: Wonderous Stories: The Best of Yes