Listen for free or download any Savatage track for just 12 cents per song!

Savatage Hair Metal Band

Savatage was formed by brothers Jon and Criss Oliva in the late 1970's in Florida.  After playing the Florida club circuit and making a name for themselves, Savatage released their first two albums on an independent label.  In 1985, the band signed a record deal with Atlantic Records, and the album Power of the Night was soon released (1985).  The band's first commercially successful album was Hall of the Mountain King (1987), which featured the song by the same name.  Some of you may remember seeing the video for this song on MTV's Headbanger's Ball.  It was this album that shaped the symphonic musical elements used on future releases.

As the years went on, Savatage moved away from the 3.5 minute metal formula to more complex and operatic tunes.  In 1991, the band released their first rock opera (Streets).  Many of you will also remember Savatage for their 1993 album, Edge of Thorns, which featured the title track (charted at 26 on the U.S. Mainstream Rock charts).  As the years rolled on, Savatage continued producing, although members of the band have split time between other projects, such as the Tran-Siberian Orchestra.  At the time of this writing, the Savatage Discography was as follows:

Listen for free or download any Savatage track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1983: Sirens
  • 1984: The Dungeons Are Calling
  • 1985: Power of the Night
  • 1986: Fight for the Rock
  • 1987: Hall of the Mountain King
  • 1989: Gutter Ballet
  • 1991: Streets: A Rock Opera
  • 1993: Edge of Thorns
  • 1994: Handful of Rain
  • 1994: Japan Live '94
  • 1995: Final Bell / Ghost in the Ruins
  • 1995: From the Gutter to the Stage
  • 1995: Dead Winter Dead
  • 1997: The Wake of Magellan
  • 1997: The Best and the Rest
  • 1998: Believe
  • 2001: Poets and Madmen
  • 2010: Still the Orchestra Plays
  • 2015: Return to Wacken