Listen for free or download any Aerosmith track for just 12 cents per song!

Aerosmith Band

Aerosmith has a long history.  Aerosmith was formed in Boston back in 1970.  Initially it was the coming together of two bands:  "The Jam Band", which was guitarist Joe Perry and bassist Tom Hamilton's group, and Steven Tyler's band called "Chain Reaction".  Soon after, Steven Tyler,  Joey Kramer (drummer), and Brad Whitford (guitarist) joined forces and the name was changed to Aerosmith.  The band was signed by Columbia Records in 1972, and their first release hit shelves in early 1973 (featured the song "Dream On"). 

By the time Aerosmith released their 1975 album, Toys in the Attic, they had solidified themselves as a mega 70's rock band and, similar to the Kiss Army, had their own loyal following of fans called the "Blue Army".  You will remember the songs "Sweet Emotion" and "Walk This Way" from this album.  Other songs from the 1970's you may remember include "Last Child", "Back in the Saddle", and "Home Tonight".  

By 1979, hard partying had taken their toll on the band, and founding members Joe Perry and Brad Whitford left the band.  Although they were replaced, Aerosmith had little success in the early to mid 1980's.  By 1985, Perry and Whitford were back for the release of Done With Mirrors, but it wasn't until the 1987 release of Permanent Vacation, that Aerosmith began to regain their 70's fame and stage one of the greatest come backs in rock history (and after drug rehab).  Hits from this release include "Angel", "Dude Looks Like a Lady", and "Rag Doll".  Pump, the band's 1989 follow up, did even better, featuring the hit songs "Love in an Elevator", "Janie's Got a Gun", "The Other Side", and "What It Takes".   Their 1993 release, Get a Grip, featured hits like "Cryin'", "Crazy", "Amazing", "Livin' on the Edge", and "Eat the Rich".

At the time of this writing, Aerosmith held the title of best selling American rock band, having sold more than 150 million albums worldwide and having the most gold and multi-platinum albums.  Aerosmith has had 21 top 40 hits, won four Grammy's, and 10 MTV music awards.  There have been so many hits by Aerosmith, folks might consider Anthology or one of the other many greatest hits releases.  Since their heyday, Aerosmith has considered touring and releasing new material.

At the time of this writing, the Aerosmith Discography was as follows:

Listen for free or download any Aerosmith track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1973: Aerosmith
  • 1974: Get Your Wings
  • 1975: Toys in the Attic
  • 1976: Rocks
  • 1977: Draw the Line
  • 1978: Live Bootleg
  • 1979: Night in the Ruts
  • 1980: Greatest Hits
  • 1982: Rock in a Hard Place
  • 1984: Classics Live I and II
  • 1984: Gems
  • 1985: Done With Mirrors
  • 1987: Permanent Vacation
  • 1989: Pump
  • 1991: Pandora's Box (Box Set)
  • 1993: Get a Grip
  • 1997: Nine Lives
  • 1998: A Little South of Sanity Live
  • 2001: Just Push Play
  • 2002: Oh Yeah, Ultimate Aerosmith Hits
  • 2004: Honkin' on Bobo
  • 2005: Rockin' the Joint
  • 2012: Music from Another Dimension
  • 2004: Drivetrain
  • 2005: Live
  • 2006: Devil's Got a New Disguise: The Very Best of Aerosmith
  • 2011: Live from Texas
  • 2011: Tough Love: Best of Ballads