Clash, The

Listen for free or download any The Clash track for just 12 cents per song!

The Clash Band

The Clash was a punk rock English band, made up of mostly seasoned local talent, that debuted in 1976 supporting the Sex Pistols at a bar called Black Swan in Sheffield.  They would go onto open for the Sex Pistols for several more shows, eventually landed a lucrative record deal with CBS records in 1977.  The band's self-titled release hit shelves the same year and featured the top 40 hit single "White Riot".  Thinking the album a bit to raw for the American pallet, it was not released until 1979.  Slightly modified, it became the best selling import album in the USA.

As the 70's rolled on, The Clash found themselves in the Top 40 in the UK multiple times, with songs like "Complete Control", "Tommy Gun", "London Calling", "I Fought the Law", and "English Civil War".  Some consider the band's 1979 release, London Calling, to be one of the greatest rock albums ever recorded.  It featured the band's first top 40 hit in the USA, a song called "Train in Vain".

In the 80's, The Clash released a total of three studio albums:  Sandinista! (1980), Combat Rock (1982), and Cut the Crap (1985).  There were several hit songs from these releases that made the Top 40, including "Bankrobber", "The Magnificent Seven", "Should I Stay or Should I Go/Straight to Hell", "This is England", and of course "Rock the Casbah".  "Rock the Casbah", from Combat Rock (1982), was the band's highest charting song in the USA.  It was also their most successful album on both sides of the ocean.  

It was after the band's 1982 release that things began to go down hill.  Long time members of the band began to leave, but one more release in 1985 was mustered before The Clash broke up in 1986.  The band had some sporadic activity after their initial breakup, but nothing ever materialized of significance.  Vocalist Joe Strummer passed away in 2002.  At the time of this writing, The Clash Discography was as follows:

Listen for free or download any The Clash track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1977: The Clash
  • 1978: Give 'Em Enough Rope
  • 1979: London Calling
  • 1980: Sandinista!
  • 1980: Black Market Clash
  • 1982: Combat Rock
  • 1985: Cut the Crap
  • 1990: 1977 Revisited
  • 1988: The Story of the Clash Volume 1
  • 1991: The Singles
  • 1991: Clash on Broadway
  • 1993: Super Black Market Clash
  • 1999: From Here to Eternity: Live
  • 2003: The Essential Clash
  • 2006: Singles Box
  • 2007: The Singles
  • 2008: Live at Shea Stadium