Blue Oyster Cult

Listen for free or download any Blue Oyster Cult track for just 12 cents per song!

Blue Oyster Cult Band

The band Blue Oyster Cult (also known as BOC) formed in Long Island, NY in the late 1960's as a band called Soft White Underbelly.  They changed their name in 1971 to Blue Oyster Cult (with the umlaut above the O).  The Blue Oyster Cult was a fictional group of aliens that secretly guided earth's history, as concocted in poetry written by the band's manager.  Although the band was a bigger 70's draw than in the 80's, they continued producing well into the 80's and had a heavy influence on early MTV.

Blue Oyster Cult released their first, self-titled album in 1972.  This album, in addition to the next few, did fairly well, and BOC began making a name for themselves.  In 1976, the band released the album Agents of Fortune, which featured the hit song "(Don't Fear) The Reaper".  Their 1977 release, Spectres, featured the hit song "Godzilla".  The band's first album in the 80's was 1980's Cultosarus Erectus, which did very well in the United Kingdom.  It was the band's 1981 release, Fire of Unknown Origin, that featured the hit song "Burnin' for You", the video for which went into heavy rotation in the early days of MTV.  

Although BOC continued producing into the 1980's, things began going downhill for them by 1983.  However, in 1988, they went back on tour, and continued touring for 11 years without a new album. At the time of this writing in the late 2015, the band was till known to be active, although some members had either died, retired, or left to work on other projects.  At the time of this writing, the Blue Oyster Cult Discography was as follows:

Listen for free or download any Blue Oyster Cult track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1972: Blue Öyster Cult
  • 1973: Tyranny and Mutation
  • 1974: Secret Treaties
  • 1975: On Your Feet or on Your Knees
  • 1976: Agents of Fortune
  • 1977: Spectres
  • 1978: Some Enchanted Evening
  • 1979: Mirrors
  • 1980: Cultösaurus Erectus
  • 1981: Fire of Unknown Origin
  • 1982: Extraterrestrial Live
  • 1983: The Revölution by Night
  • 1985: Club Ninja
  • 1987: Career of Evil: The Metal Years
  • 1988: Imaginos
  • 1994: Cult Classic
  • 1994: Live 1976
  • 1995: Workshop of the Telescopes
  • 1998: Super Hits
  • 1998: Heaven Forbid
  • 2000: Don't Fear the Reaper: The Best of Blue Öyster Cult
  • 2001: Curse of the Hidden Mirror
  • 2002: A Long Day's Night
  • 2003: Then and Now
  • 2003: Are You Ready To Rock?
  • 2003: The Essential Blue Öyster Cult
  • 2004: Extended Versions: The Encore Collection
  • 2004: Shooting Shark – The Best Of Blue Öyster Cult
  • 2005: The Singles Collection
  • 2006: Don't Fear The Reaper
  • 2007: Collections
  • 2007: The Best Of Blue Öyster Cult
  • 2008: Greatest Hits
  • 2010: The Cöllection
  • 2010: Playlist: The Very Best of Blue Öyster Cult
  • 2011: Setlist: The Very Best Of Blue Öyster Cult Live
  • 2012: The Complete Columbia Albums Collectiön