Dexy's Midnight Runners

Listen for free or download any Dexy's Midnight Runners track for just 12 cents per song!

Dexy's Midnight Runners Band

Dexy's Midnight Runners was founded in 1978 by former Killjoys band members Kevin Rowland (aka Carlo Rolan) and Kevin "Al" Archer.  The band named themselves after the recreational drug Dexedrine, which, like speed, gives the user the energy to party all night (or at least stay up until midnight).  The band released their first single, "Dance Stance", in 1979.  The song actually made it into the top 40 British charts.    

Dexy's Midnight Runners' first album was Searching for the Young  Soul Rebels (1980).  Many of you will remember the UK number 1 hit song "Geno" from this album, and also the UK top 7 song "There, There, My Dear".  It was their 1982 release, Too-Rye-Ay, that brought the band worldwide success and a number 1 hit in four countries (including the USA).  That number 1 hit was  "Come On Eileen".  Other hit songs from this album included "Show Me", "Jackie Wilson Said (I'm in Heaven When You Smile)", "Let's Get This Straight (From the Start)", and "The Celtic Soul Brothers".

The last album for the band was Don't Stand Me Down in 1985.  The album did not fair well, and Dexy's Midnight Runners soon split up.  Although there was some activity post 1985, a new version of the band, called "Dexys", formed in 2003 and went on tour.  The band released a greatest hits album that featured two new songs, and a new album in 2012 (One Day I'm Going to Soar).  At the time of this writing in the spring of 2013, the band was still active.  The Current Dexy's Midnight Runners Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any Dexy's Midnight Runners track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1980: Searching for the Young Soul Rebels
  • 1982: Too-Rye-Ay
  • 1983: Geno
  • 1985: Don't Stand Me Down
  • 1991: The Very Best of Dexys Midnight Runners
  • 1993: Because of You
  • 1995: 1980-1982: The Radio One Sessions
  • 1995: BBC Radio One Live in Concert
  • 1996: It Was Like This
  • 1996: Master Series
  • 2003: Let's Make This Precious: The Best of Dexys Midnight Runners
  • 2007: The Projected Passion Revue
  • 2012: One Day I'm Going to Soar