Cheap Trick

Listen for free or download any Cheap Trick track for just 12 cents per song!

Cheap Trick Band

Cheap Trick formed back in 1973 in Rockford, IL.  The name of the band was chosen after attending a Slade concert, where Cheap Trick member Rob Petersson commented that Slade used every "Cheap Trick" in the book to entertain the audience.  Cheap Trick's first official demo, with Robin Zander on vocals, was played out in every bar and bowling alley that would have them, and the effort landed them a record deal with Epic Records in 1975.  

Cheap Trick's officially debuted in 1977 with the release of their first self-titled album.  This first album did not due as well as hoped in the USA, but had a following in Japan and Europe.  The band's second release, In Color, was also not nearly as successful in the USA as elsewhere, but did produce a few songs you may remember, including "I Want You to Want Me" and "Clock Strikes 10".  Years later, this album was listed on Rolling Stone's Top 500 greatest albums.  Cheap Trick's 1978 release, Heaven Tonight, is considered by many to be their greatest album.  You may remember the song "Surrender" from this album.  After this release, Cheap Trick became a huge hit in Japan. 

By the time Cheap Trick toured Japan in 1978, the excitement was reminiscent of Beatlemania of the 1960's, and the Japanese press referred to Cheap Trick as the "American Beatles".  A live recording was released after their Budokan concert in Japan, and some of their old songs began to chart in the USA, including "I Want You to Want Me", which made it to no. 7 on the charts, and "Ain't That a Shame", which peaked at no. 35.  Dream Police was released in 1979, and the title track also became a hit as well as the song "Voices".  As band members began to shift, Cheap Trick continued to release.  Some of you may remember the songs "She's Tight" and "If You Want My Love" from their 1982 release, One on One.  Other songs released in the 1980's that you may remember include "Up the Creek", "Tonight It's You", and "Reach Out". 

It was the Cheap Trick's 1988 release, Lap of Luxury, that brought the band it's first number one hit ("The Flame").  Regarded as their comeback album, it also featured the songs "Let Go", "Ghost Town", "Don't Be Cruel" and "Never Had a Lot to Lose".  Some of you may also remember the hit song "Can't Stop Falling In Love", which was the produce of the 1990 release, Busted.

As the years have rolled on, Cheap Trick has continued touring and churning out new material.  At the time of this writing, the Cheap Trick Discography was as follows:

Listen for free or download any Cheap Trick track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1977: Cheap Trick
  • 1977: In Color
  • 1978: Heaven Tonight
  • 1978: Cheap Trick at Budokan
  • 1979: Dream Police
  • 1980: All Shook Up
  • 1980: Found All the Parts EP
  • 1982: One on One
  • 1983: Next Position Please
  • 1985: Standing on the Edge
  • 1986: The Doctor
  • 1988: Lap of Luxury
  • 1990: Busted
  • 1991: Greatest Hits
  • 1993: Budokan II
  • 1994: Woke Up With a Monster
  • 1997: Cheap Trick
  • 1998: At Budokan: The Complete Concert
  • 2003: Special One
  • 2006: Rockford
  • 2008: At Budokan: 30th Anniversary Collectors Edition
  • 2009: The Latest