Corey Hart

Listen for free or download any Corey Hart track for just 12 cents per song!

Corey Hart Band

Some of you may wonder why we included Corey Hart in the Rock section of this site instead of the Top 40 section, and your wonder may be justified.  Corey Hart was born in Canada, but lived in various places during his childhood (Mexico, USA, Spain).  Because of this eclectic homesteading background, Hart became fluent in Spanish and French.  In his early music career, Hart was able to record some demos with Billy Joel's backup band, and by 1983, he was on his way with the release of his first album, First Offense.  It was this first release that brought us the chart topping songs "Sunglasses at Night" and "It Ain't Enough".

Corey Hart became a near instant success in the USA after heavy rotation of the video for "Sunglass at Night", but it was not until 1984 that his home country of Canada began taking notice.  In support of the album, Corey Hart toured with the likes of Rick Springfield, April Wine, Hall & Oates, Thomas Dolby, and Culture Club.  In 1985, Boy in the Box, was released, and Hart continued to skyrocket in popularity both at home (Canada) and in the USA.  The hit song "Never Surrender" from this album charted at No. 3 in the USA and No. 1 in Canada. Other songs from the album that charted in the Top 40 included "Boy in the Box," "Everything in My Heart" and "Eurasian Eyes".

In 1986, Corey Hart's third album, Fields of Fire, hit the shelves.  Hit songs you may remember from this release include "I Am by Your Side" and "Can't Help Falling in Love".  Hart had been touring so extensively by 1987, that he was forced to take a hiatus after collapsing from exhaustion at a show in Canada (he was 25 years old at the time).  By 1988, he was rested up, and his Young Man Running album featured the top 40 hit "In Your Soul".  The song "A Little Love" was from his 1990 release (Bang!).

As the years have gone on, Corey Hart has continued producing and touring the world.  He had a bit of a resurgence in the mid 1990's with the song "Black Cloud Rain".  At the time of this writing, the Corey Hard Discography was as follows:

Listen for free or download any Corey Hart track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1983: First Offense
  • 1985: Boy in the Box
  • 1986: Fields of Fire
  • 1988: Young Man Running
  • 1990: Bang!
  • 1991: Singles
  • 1992: Attitude & Virtue
  • 1996: Corey Hart
  • 1998: Jade