Culture Club

Listen for free or download any Culture Club track for just 12 cents per song!

Culture Club Band

Before the UK band Culture Club formed in 1981, Cross Dresser Boy George sang from time to time for a band called Bow Wow Wow and called himself Lieutenant Lush.  After forming his own band, and turning down band names like Praise of Lemmings and Sex Gang Children, they settled on Culture Club based on the eclectic diversity of band members.

Culture Club's first release, Kissing to Be Clever (1982), became quit the hit for the band, featuring one of their greatest hits, the song "Do You Really Want to Hurt Me", which charted at no. 1 in the UK and no. 2 in the USA.  Other hit songs from this release were "Time (Clock of the Heart" and "I'll Tumble 4 Ya".  This band the Culture Club the first band since the Beatles to have three top 10 hits from a debut release.

In 1983, Culture Club continued their success with the release of Colour By  Numbers, which featured the hit songs "Church of the Poison Mind", "Miss Me Blind", "It's a Miracle", "Victims", and of course "Karma Chameleon" (this song charted at No. 1 in both the UK and the USA).  Although the band's 1984 release, Waking Up with the House of Fire, was not nearly as successful as its predecessors, it did feature the hit song "The War Song".  By the time Culture Club released From Luxury to Heartache in 1986, Boy George's drug abuse had taken its toll.  The album did feature one hit song ("Move Away").  The band subsequently broke up and Boy George went solo.

Over the years, Culture Club has reunited for various reunion tours, and their last studio release was Don't Mind If I Do in 1999.  At the time of this writing, the Culture Club Discography was as follows:

Listen for free or download any Culture Club track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1982: Kissing to Be Clever
  • 1983: Colour by Numbers
  • 1984: Waking Up with the House on Fire
  • 1986: From Luxury to Heartache
  • 1987: This Time - The First Four Years
  • 1989: The Best of Culture Club
  • 1991: 12" Mixes Plus
  • 1993: At Worst...The Best of Boy George and Culture Club
  • 1998: Greatest Moments
  • 1999: Don't Mind If I Do
  • 2002: Culture Club Box Set
  • 2005: Greatest Hits
  • 2005: Singles and Remixes