Grover Washington, Jr.

Listen for free or download any Grover Washington, Jr. track for just 12 cents per song!

Grover Washington Jr. Singer

Grover Washington, Jr. was an American Jazz funk artist and saxophonist from New York.  Washington grew up in a musical home, and by the age of 8, he had been given a sax by his father.  After leaving Buffalo, NY, Grover played with bands like the Four Chefs and the Mark III Trio before being drafted into the US Army.  After meeting drummer Billy Cobham during his US Army days, he began making his way into the jazz scene of New York City.  His first solo album, Inner City Blues, was released in 1972.

Grover Washington, Jr. found his first commercial success with the release of Mister Magic (1974), whose title song was a chart success.  Although Washington continued to produce, his greatest success came with the 1980 release of Winelight, which featured his highest charting song, "Just the Two of Us".  Not only did this song reach no.2 on the Billboard Hot 100, but it also won a Grammy Award in 1982.

Grover Washington, Jr. kept producing new music throughout the rest of the 80's and 90's, although he was never able to hit the success of the early 1980's again.  He died in 1999 of a heart attack.  The Grover Washington, Jr. Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any Grover Washington, Jr. track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1972: Inner City Blues
  • 1972: All the King's Horses
  • 1973: Soul Box
  • 1975: Mister Magic
  • 1975: Feels So Good
  • 1976: A Secret Place
  • 1977: Live at The Bijou
  • 1978: Reed Seed
  • 1979: Paradise
  • 1980: Skylarkin'
  • 1980: Winelight
  • 1981: Come Morning
  • 1981: Baddest
  • 1981: Anthology
  • 1982: The Best Is Yet to Come
  • 1984: Inside Moves
  • 1986: House Full of Love
  • 1987: Strawberry Moon
  • 1988: Then and Now
  • 1989: Time Out of Mind
  • 1992: Next Exit
  • 1994: All My Tomorrows
  • 1996: Soulful Strut
  • 1997: Breath of Heaven: A Holiday Collection
  • 2000: Aria