Glenn Frey

Listen for free or download any Glenn Frey track for just 12 cents per song!

Glenn Frey Singer

Glenn Frey, best known as a founding member of The Eagles, was born and raised in Michigan.  In the mid 1960's, Frey (pronounced like French fry) could be found playing in various Detroit rock bands.  After moving to Los Angeles, Frey landed a job with Linda Ronstadt's backing band, as did Don Henley, and the roots of the band the Eagles was formed.  The Eagles often shared vocal duties, and it was Frey's voice on Eagles songs like "Take It Easy", "Lyin' Eyes", "Heartache Tonight", and many more.

After the Eagles broke up in 1980, Frey began a very successful solo career.  His first solo album, No Fun Aloud (1982), did relatively well, featuring several charting songs:  "I Found Somebody", "The One You Love", "Don't Give Up", and "Partytown".  The Allnighter, released in 1984, featured the songs "Sexy Girl" and "Smuggler's Blues".  Two of Frey's most successful 80's hits were soundtrack related:  "The Heat is On", from Beverly Hills Cop, and "You Belong to the City", from Miami Vice. Frey's last 80's release, Soul Searchin' (1988), featured the hit song "True Love".

Glenn Frey did continue producing into the 1990's as a solo artist, and by 1994 he was back in league with the Eagles.  Frey continued touring with the Eagles up until he got sick in late 2015.  He died in 2016.  Frey's last solo, studio album called After Hours, was released in 2012.  The Glenn Grey Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any Glenn Frey track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1982: No Fun Aloud
  • 1984: The Allnighter
  • 1988: Soul Searchin'
  • 1992: Strange Weather
  • 1993: Glenn Frey Live
  • 1995: Solo Collection
  • 2000: 20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection
  • 2012: After Hours