Cutting Crew

Listen for free or download any Cutting Crew track for just 12 cents per song!

Cutting Crew Band

The English band Cutting Crew was formed by singer Nick Van Eede and guitarist Kevin Scott MacMichael  in 1985.  They met in Canada while on tour with their respective bands.  The two created and submitted demos and had landed a record deal even before hiring bassist Colin Farley and drummer Martin Beadle.

Cutting Crew's debut album, Broadcast, was released in 1986 on the Virgin record label.  This was the album that featured the number 1 hit song "(I Just) Dies in Your Arms", which rocketed the unknown band to international stardom.  There were two additional hits from this album, "I've Been in Love Before" (a minor hit) and "One for the Mockingbird", which peaked at number 9 in the USA and number 4 in the UK.  The band received a Grammy nomination in 1987 as Best New Artist.

Cutting Crew followed up their successful freshman effort with The Scattering in 1989.  The album did not fair nearly as well as their first release, but did feature one notable song that peaked at No. 4 on the US Adult Contemporary chart:  "Everything By My Pride".  Another song from the album, "The Last Thing", did crack the top 20 of the same chart.

Cutting Crew broke up shortly after their 1992 release, Compus Mentus, and album that did not chart.  In 2005, Van Eede reformed Cutting Crew with completely new members (MacMichael passed away in 2002 from lung cancer) and the album Grinning Souls was released in 2005.  At the time of this writing, Van Eede was working on a new album to be released in 2013.  The Cutting Crew Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any Cutting Crew track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1986: Broadcast
  • 1989: The Scattering
  • 1992: Compus Mentus
  • 2003: The Best of the Cutting Crew
  • 2005: Grinning Souls