J. Geils Band, The

Listen for free or download any J. Geils Band track for just 12 cents per song!

The J. Geils Band

The J. Geils Band was formed way back in 1967 in Worcester, MA, by guitarist John Geils, as a band named Snoopy and the Sopwith Camels.  Initially, the band was a blues rock band before moving to the new wave sound that we 80’s fans are familiar with.  They signed to a deal with Atlantic Records in 1970 and had a number of minor hits in the early 1970’s, including songs like “Lookin’ for a Love” and “Must of Got Lost”.  The band’s biggest hit of the 1970’s was the song “One Last Kiss”, which charted at number 35 in 1978.

The band’s best years came in the early 1980’s, with the release of the albums Love Stinks (1980) and Freeze Frame (1981).  Their 1981 album featured the hit songs “Centerfold” (charted at no. 1) and “Freeze Frame” (charted at no. 4).  The band was widely popular not only in the USA, but also the United Kingdom.

By 1985, the band had split.  In the 2000’s and 2010’s, original members of the band reunited at various times for charity shows and at times to relive their former glory.  For example, in 2010, the J. Geils Band opened up for Aerosmith at a sold-out show in Fenway Park.  In 2013, the band served as the warm-up act for Bon Jovi during their tour, and in 2015 they were touring with Bob Seger.  More to come?  At the time of this writing, the J. Geils Band Discography was as follows:

Listen for free or download any J. Geils Band track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1970: The J. Geils Band
  • 1971: The Morning After
  • 1972: "Live" Full House (live)
  • 1973: Bloodshot
  • 1973: Ladies Invited
  • 1974: Nightmares...and Other Tales from the Vinyl Jungle
  • 1975: Hotline
  • 1976: Blow Your Face Out
  • 1977: Monkey Island
  • 1978: Sanctuary
  • 1979: Best of the J. Geils Band
  • 1980: Love Stinks
  • 1981: Freeze Frame 
  • 1982: Showtime! (live)
  • 1984: You're Gettin' Even While I'm Gettin' Odd
  • 1985: Flashback: The Best of the J. Geils Band
  • 1986: Flamethrower
  • 1993: House Party: The J. Geils Anthology
  • 1997: Look for a Love
  • 2006: Best of the J. Geils Band
  • 2015: Houseparty Live In Germany