Moving Pictures

Listen for free or download any Moving Pictures track for just 12 cents per song!

Moving Pictures Band

Moving Pictures was an Australian rock band that formed in Sydney in 1978.  The band made a name for themselves in the 70's and early 80's while constantly playing around Australia.  By 1981, they had landed a deal with a small Australian label, and their first single, a song called "Bustin' Loose", was a minor hit in Australia.

Fueled by the success of their first single, Moving Pictures released Days of Innocence in 1982.  They were known as a good live rock act, but the album itself was mostly ballads.  This seemed to work to their benefit, as the song "What About Me" was reached number 1 on the charts, and the song "Winners" reached number 12.  In 1983, Moving Pictures released the album Matinee, which was a return to their rock roots.  This album did not do as well, but did feature the top 40 hit song "Back to the Streets".  Some of you may remember that they also contributed the songs "Never" and "We Share Our Love" from the Footloose movie soundtrack.

Moving Pictures broke up in 1987 as members pursued other projects.  In 2005, some of the Moving Pictures members temporarily reformed as an acoustic trio, playing multiple shows in Australia.  In 2011, all members were on stage together for the first time since the 1980's as they performed on an Australian TV show called Sunrise.  The current Moving Pictures Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any Moving Pictures track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1981: Days of Innocence
  • 1983: Matinée
  • 1987: The Last Picture Show
  • 2000: Days of Innocence – The Ultimate Collection