Knack, The

Listen for free or download any The Knack track for just 12 cents per song!

The Knack Band

The Knack, an old-school rock band, was formed by singer Doug Fieger in the late 1970's.  Fieger grew up in Michigan, and although he tried his luck with a bands like Sky and Sunset Bombers, chart success was elusive.  Fieger decided to move to Los Angeles to start a new band, and this is where he met guitarist Berton Averre, Prescott Niles (bass), and Bruce Gary (drums).

Things began coming together for the band in the late 1970's as they began getting noticed in the L.A. club scene.  Their first album, Get the Knack, was one of the best sellers of 1979, and featured one of the band's most famous hit songs, "My Sharona".  Another hit song from this release was "Good Girls Don't".  The band took some flack for trying to be too much like the Beatles.  Their follow up release, But the Little Girls Understand (1980), did not do as well as its predecessor, but still featured the top 40 hit "Baby Talks Dirty".  By the time Round Trip was released in 1981, the tensions and burnout where high in the band, and Fieger soon quit.  The Knack broke up for several years, but returned to the stage in the late 1980's, culminating in the new studio album Serious Fun in 1991, which featured the US AOR hit "Rocket O' Love".

Since their heyday, The Knack broke up, reunited, broke up, and reunited more than a few times.  The band released a few albums here and there in the late 1990's and 2000's.  In 2010, Doug Fieger died of cancer.  The Knack Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any The Knack track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1979: Get the Knack
  • 1979: The Knack Live at Carnegie Hall
  • 1980: ...But the Little Girls Understand
  • 1981: Round Trip
  • 1991: Serious Fun
  • 1992: Retrospective
  • 1995: My Sharona
  • 1998: Zoom
  • 1998: Proof: The Very Best of the Knack
  • 1999: The Best of the Knack: Ten Best Series
  • 2001: Normal as the Next Guy
  • 2001: Live from the Rock n Roll Funhouse
  • 2003: Re-Zoom
  • 2007: World Cafe Live: The Knack in Concert
  • 2012: Rock & Roll Is Good for You: The Fieger/Averre Demos
  • 2012: Havin' a Rave-Up! Live in Los Angeles, 1978