Listen for free or download any R.E.M. track for just 12 cents per song!

REM Band

R.E.M. (short for Rapid Eye Movement) hailed from Georgia where they formed back in 1980.  The band garnered a reputation for themselves in the Georgia area, and the rest is history.  R.E.M. is considered by many to be one of the first alternative rock bands to find popularity with music fans.  The band's first single, "Radio Free Europe", was released in 1981, which was followed by their first EP, Chronic Town, which was released in 1981.  The band’s first studio album, Murmur, was released in 1983.

It wasn't until the release of the single "The One I Love" in 1987 that R.E.M. first met mainstream success.  Rolling Stone magazine even declared the band "America's Best Rock & Roll Band".  It was this song landed them a record deal with Warner Brothers in 1988, which gave the band a much larger platform to express their political views.  The band's popularity peaked in the early 1990's with the onslaught of alternative music.  The charted both in the USA and the UK.

Although the band continued working diligently well into the 2010's, they officially split up in 2011.  Other songs you may remember from the 80's include "So. Central Rain (I'm Sorry)", "Can't Get There from Here", "Driver 8", "Fall On Me", "Superman", "It's the End of the World as We Know It (And I Feel Fine)", "Finest Worksong", "Orange Crush" (no. 1 hit), "Stand" (no. 1 hit), and "Pop Song 89".  Those of you who followed the band into the early 1990's will also remember the hits "Losing My Religion" (no. 1 hit), "Shiny Happy People", "Drive", "Man on the Moon", "What's the Frequency, Kenneth?", "Everybody Hurts", "Band the Blame", and many  more.

At the time of this writing, the R.E.M. discography was as follows:

Listen for free or download any R.E.M. track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1983: Murmur
  • 1984: Reckoning
  • 1985: Fables of the Reconstruction
  • 1986: Lifes Rich Pageant
  • 1987: Document
  • 1987: Dead Letter Office
  • 1988: Green
  • 1988: Eponymous
  • 1991: Out of Time
  • 1991: The Best of R.E.M.
  • 1992: Automatic for the People
  • 1993: The Automatic Box
  • 1994: Monster
  • 1994: R.E.M. Singles Collected
  • 1996: New Adventures in Hi-Fi
  • 1997: R.E.M. In the Attic – Alternative Recordings 1985-1989
  • 1998: Up
  • 2001: Reveal
  • 2002: r.e.m.IX
  • 2003: In Time: The Best of R.E.M. 1988 - 2003
  • 2004: Around the Sun
  • 2006: And I Feel Fine…The Best of the I.R.S. Years 1982 - 1987
  • 2007: REM Live
  • 2008: Accelerate
  • 2009: Live at the Olympia
  • 2011: Collapse into Now
  • 2011: R.E.M. Three
  • 2011: Part Lies, Part Heart, Part Truth, Part Garbage 1982 - 2011
  • 2014: Unplugged: The Complete 1991 and 2001 Sessions
  • 2014: Complete Warner Bros. Rarities 1988 – 2011