Men at Work

Listen for free or download any Men at Work track for just 12 cents per song!

Men at Work Band

The Australian band Men At Work certainly left their mark on the 80's Billboard Chart.  The roots of the band can be traced back to the late 1970's, when vocalist Colin Hay created a band with Ron Strykert, Jerry Speiser, Greg Ham, and John Rees.  They landed a record deal with Columbia Records in 1981, and they were soon off to the races.

In June of 1981, Columbia released the single "Who Can It Be Now?" in Australia, and this song, in addition to the album it was released on, Business as Usual, was very successful in Australia and New Zealand.  Initially, Columbia would not release the album in the USA, but after some prodding, it was released 6 months later.  By late 1982, "Who Can It Be Now" was a no. 1 hit in the USA.  By 1983, the song "Down Under" was also released in the USA, and it too became a no.1 hit.  Some of you may also remember the song "Be Good Johnny" from this same album.

Men At Work also released Cargo in 1983, and it too was a great success.  Songs from this album you may remember include "It's a Mistake", "Dr. Heckyll and Mr. Jive", and "Overkill".  Riding on the success for their first two albums, Men at Work went on an extensive tour of the world.  Tensions were high in the band after 2 years of heavy touring, and members began to split.  The album Two Hearts (1985) was released without all original members, and it did not fair well on the charts.  The band was officially split up by 1986.

In 1996, the band reformed, although not with all original members (Ham and Hay).  The group performed on stage together in the late 1990's and early 2000's, and even performed as late as 2009 for an Australian telethon.  Greg Ham passed away in 2012.  The Men at Work Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any Men at Work track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1981: Business as Usual
  • 1983: Cargo
  • 1983: Overtime
  • 1985: Two Hearts
  • 1989: Solid Gold
  • 1995: Puttin' in Overtime
  • 1996: Contraband: The Best of Men at Work
  • 1998: Simply The Best
  • 2000: Definitive Collection
  • 2000: Super Hits
  • 2003: The Essential Men at Work
  • 2008: Essential Deluxe
  • 2009: Playlist: The Very Best of Men at Work
  • 2010: Live in San Bernardino