Manhattans, The

Listen for free or download any The Manhattans track for just 12 cents per song!

The Manhattans Band

The Manhattans formed in New Jersey way back in 1962 after they were all discharged from the armed forces.  Their first single, "For the Very First Time", was released in 1964, and their first studio album in 1966.  They continued as a successful R&B group throughout the 1960's and 1970's, producing a ton of hits that made the top 40 on the R&B charts.

In 1976, The Manhattans had their first no. 1 song on both the Billboard and R&B charts:  "Kiss and Say Goodbye".  Even though they had a number of additional R&B hits as the 70's rolled on, they would not make the top 40 Billboard charts again until 1980, with the release of the song "Shining Star" from the album After Midnight.  This song even landed the group a Grammy award in 1981.

By 1990, there was only one original member left in the band.  Some members went on to solo careers, while others left for health or other personal reasons.  There have been various incarnations of the band post 1990, and although there have been further releases, PBS specials, and reunion shows, the glory days for the band were over.  The Manhattans Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any The Manhattans track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1966: Dedicated to You
  • 1967: For You and Yours
  • 1970: With These Hands
  • 1972: A Million to One
  • 1973: There's No Me Without You
  • 1974: That's How Much I Love You
  • 1976: The Manhattans
  • 1977: It Feels So Good
  • 1978: There's No Good in Goodbye
  • 1979: Love Talk
  • 1980: Greatest Hits
  • 1980: After Midnight
  • 1981: Black Tie
  • 1983: Forever by Your Side
  • 1985: Too Hot to Stop It
  • 1986: Back to Basics
  • 1989: Sweet Talk
  • 1990: Dedicated to You: Golden Classics, Part 1
  • 1990: Sing for You & Yours: Golden Classics, Part 2
  • 1995: The Best of the Manhattans: Kiss and Say Goodbye
  • 2000: Love Songs
  • 1999: Live from South Africa
  • 2001: Even Now
  • 2002: Super Hits
  • 2002: I'm the One That Love Forgot
  • 2007: Reachin' for the Sky
  • 2008: Men Cry Too
  • 2008: Sweet Talking Soul 1965-1990