Men Without Hats

Listen for free or download any Men Without Hats track for just 12 cents per song!

Men without Hats Band

Men Without Hats was a new wave band that formed in Montreal in the late 1970's.  They named themselves after the fact that they would not wear stocking hats during the cold Canadian winter, because they did not consider hats to be stylish.  Although members of the band changed frequently, they sill managed to leave their mark on the 80's.

Men Without Hats released their first EP in 1980 (Folk of the 80's).  Their first full studio release, Rhythm of Youth (1982), was the album that featured their international hit song, and the song they are most remembered for:  "The Safety Dance".  In 1984, they released the album Folk of the 80's (Part III), but it did not do as well as its predecessor.  Another EP, Freeways, was released in 1985.  In 1987, Men Without Hats released the album Pop Goes the World, the title track of which became another international hit.

As the 80's rolled on, Men Without Hats released the album The Adventures of Women and Men without Hate in the 21st Century (1989).  Although this album produced no international hits, it continued the band's chart success in Canada.  The band released one studio album in 1991, but soon after they disbanded.  As the years rolled on, former band members worked on solo projects, and by 2010, Men Without Hats was reformed.  Their latest release hit shelves in 2012.  The Men Without Hats Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any Men Without Hats track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1982: Rhythm of Youth
  • 1980: Folk of the 80's
  • 1984: Folk of the 80's (Part III)
  • 1985: Freeways
  • 1987: Pop Goes the World
  • 1989: The Adventures of Women & Men Without Hate in the 21st Century
  • 1991: Sideways
  • 1996: Collection
  • 1997: Greatest Hats
  • 1998: The Very Best of Men Without Hats
  • 2003: No Hats Beyond This Point
  • 2006: My Hats Collection
  • 2008: The Silver Collection
  • 2012: Love in the Age of War