Moody Blues, The

Listen for free or download any The Moody Blues track for just 12 cents per song!

The Moody Blues Band

Great Britain's the Moody Blues formed way back in 1964, where they became a regular at the Carlton Ballroom (in the Erdington district of Birmingham, West Midlands).  They landed a record deal in 1964 with Decca Records.  One of their earlier singles, and their only number 1 hit, was the single "Go Now", released in 1964.  Another hit 60's song that many of you will be familiar with is "Knights in White Satin", which was an international hit in 1967.

The Moody Blues kept right on producing, well into the 1970's, although the band did take a hiatus while members pursued solo careers.  Some of their 70's hits include "Question", "The Story in Your Eyes", "Isn't Life Strange", and "I'm Just a Singer (In a Rock and Roll Band)".  The band released a handful of albums in the 1980's.  There are a number of songs many of you may remember, including "The Voice" and "Gemini Dream" from Long Distance Voyager (1981), "Sitting at the Wheel" from The Present (1983), and their most recognizable 80's hit, the song "Your Wildest Dreams" from the 1986 album The Other Side of Life.  Their last 80's release, Sur la Mer (1988), also featured a hit song called "I Know You're Out There Somewhere".

During several years in the 1990's, the Moody Blues released no new studio albums while they perfected playing live with an orchestra.  At the time of this writing, there had only been two new studio releases post 80's, and members had come and gone.  The Moody Blues were still active in the 2010's, even hosting their own cruises.  The Moody Blues Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any The Moody Blues track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1965: The Magnificent Moodies
  • 1967: Days of Future Passed
  • 1968: In Search of the Lost Chord
  • 1969: On the Threshold of a Dream
  • 1969: To Our Children's Children's Children
  • 1970: A Question of Balance
  • 1971: Every Good Boy Deserves Favour
  • 1972: Seventh Sojourn
  • 1974: This Is The Moody Blues
  • 1977: Caught Live + 5
  • 1977: A Night at Red Rocks with the Colorado Symphony Orchestra
  • 1978: The Great Moody Blues
  • 1978: Octave
  • 1979: Out of This World
  • 1981: Eternity in an Hour: A Collection of the Best of The Moody Blues
  • 1981: Long Distance Voyager
  • 1983: The Present
  • 1984: Voices in The Sky: The Best of The Moody Blues
  • 1986: The Other Side of Life
  • 1987: Prelude
  • 1988: Sur la Mer
  • 1989: Greatest Hits
  • 1990: The Story of the Moody Blues – Legend of a Band
  • 1991: Keys of the Kingdom
  • 1994: Time Traveller
  • 1996: The Very Best of The Moody Blues
  • 1998: Anthology
  • 1999: Classic Moody Blues: The Universal Masters Collection
  • 1999: Strange Times
  • 2000: The Best of The Moody Blues: 20th Century Masters
  • 2000: Hall of Fame
  • 2003: Say It with Love
  • 2003: Ballads
  • 2003: December
  • 2005: Gold
  • 2005: Lovely to See You: Live
  • 2006: An Introduction to The Moody Blues
  • 2007: Collected
  • 2007: Live at the BBC: 1967–1970
  • 2008: Live at the Isle of Wight Festival 1970
  • 2008: Playlist Plus