Michael Bolton

Listen for free or download any Michael Bolton track for just 12 cents per song!

Michael Bolton Singer

Bolton, whose real name is Michael Bolotin, started out in the mid 1970's as a solo artist, and then later as a rock singer in a band called Blackjack.  Blackjack released two albums (1979 and 1980) and even opened up for Ozzy Osbourne before disbanding. After Blackjack, Bolton released two more rock-based albums as a solo artist:  A self-titled album in 1983 and Everybody's Crazy in 1985.  The most known track from his days as a rocker was the song "Fools Game", which charted in the top 100.  Michael Bolton was heading from hard rock to heavy metal in 1983 when he tried out as the lead singer for Black Sabbath (this is not a joke).  As history tells us, that gig did not work out, and after writing some hit songs for other singers, such as Laura Branigan, Bolton was convinced his future was on the Adult Contemporary charts.  Basically he was told to give up the whole rock and roll idea.  By the late 80's, he was well on his way to appealing to both Grandma and Granddaughter.

It was Bolton's 1987 release, the Hunger that solidified his position on the easy listening charts.  The song featured the hits "That's What Love is All About" and the cover "(Sittin' On) the Dock of the Bay".  His 1989 release, Soul Provider, featured the hit title track as well as "How Am I Supposed to Live Without You".  By the early 1990's, Bolton's career was in full swing.  By the time the 90's was over, Bolton had produced 15 top 10 hits on the Adult Contemporary Charts.  At the time of this writing, the Michael Bolton Discography was as follows:

Listen for free or download any Michael Bolton track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1975: Michael Bolotin
  • 1976: Every Day of My Life
  • 1983: Michael Bolton
  • 1985: Everybody's Crazy
  • 1987: The Hunger
  • 1989: Soul Provider
  • 1991: Time, Love & Tenderness
  • 1992: Timeless: The Classics
  • 1993: The One Thing
  • 1993: The Artistry of Michael Bolotin
  • 1995: Greatest Hits (1985–1995)
  • 1996: This is the Time: The Christmas Album
  • 1997: All That Matters
  • 1998: My Secret Passion
  • 1999: Timeless: The Classics Vol. 2
  • 2001: Love Songs
  • 2002: The Ultimate Collection
  • 2002: Joy to the World
  • 2002: Only a Woman Like You
  • 2003: Vintage
  • 2004: Said I Love You... The Best of Michael Bolton
  • 2005: To Love Somebody – The Best of Michael Bolton
  • 2005: The Essential Michael Bolton
  • 2005: The Very Best of Michael Bolton
  • 2005: 'Til the End of Forever
  • 2006: Bolton Swings Sinatra
  • 2007: A Swingin' Christmas
  • 2009: One World of Love
  • 2009: Soul Provider: The Best of Michael Bolton
  • 2009: The Ultimate
  • 2009: Time, Love and Tenderness – The Best of Michael Bolton
  • 2010: Live at the Royal Albert Hall
  • 2011: Tems: The Duets Collection / Duette
  • 2013: Ain't No Mount High Enough - Tribute to Hitsville