Oingo Boingo

Listen for free or download any Oingo Boingo track for just 12 cents per song!

Oingo Boingo Band

Oingo Boingo was an American musical theatre troupe that formed in 1972 as The Mystic Knights of the Oingo Boingo.  The name of the band was gleamed partially from the Amos 'n' Andy TV show, where there was a fictional secret society called The Mystic Knights of the Sea.  Initially, Oingo Boingo was a very eclectic band, playing some odd music and dressing strangely (they even wore white makeup).  There were some times up to 15 musicians, playing a multitude of instruments, covering music from multiple decades.

In the late 1970's, things began to look up for the band after a successful stint on the Gong Show and a switch to a more pop rock format.  They released their first self-titled in EP in 1980 as an octet.  They released a number of albums in the 1980s:  Only a Lad (1981), Nothing to Fear (1982), Good for Your Soul (1983), Dead Man's Party (1985), Boi-ngo (1987), and Boingo Alive (1988).  Some of you will remember the song "Dead Man's Party" from 1985, even though it did not chart.  Other notable songs inclued "Weird Science," from the Weird Science movie soundtrack, "Winning Side" from from 1988, and "When The Lights Go Out" (released on Dark at the End of the Tunnel in 1990).

Oingo Boingo's last studio release was in 1994, and in 1995, they went on a farewell tour.  In 2013, there was still no intention of re-forming the band due to the hearing loss of band members (hey, your mom was telling you to turn it down for a reason).  There was a bit of a spin-off reunion show in 2012 called Johnny Vatos Boingo Dance Party" in California, but that was the last we heard.  The Oingo Boingo Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any Oingo Boingo track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1980: Oingo Boingo
  • 1981: Only a Lad
  • 1982: Nothing to Fear
  • 1983: Good for Your Soul
  • 1984: So-Lo 1
  • 1985: Dead Man's Party
  • 1987: Boi-ngo
  • 1988: Boingo Alive
  • 1989: The Best of Oingo Boingo: Skeletons in the Closet
  • 1990: Stay
  • 1990: Dark at the End of the Tunnel
  • 1991: Best O' Boingo
  • 1994: Boingo 2
  • 1996: Farewell: Live from the Universal Amphitheatre, Halloween 1995
  • 1999: Anthology
  • 2002: The Best of Oingo Boingo: 20th Century Masters: The Millennium Collection