Police, The

Listen for free or download any The Police track for just 12 cents per song!

The Police Band

The Police formed in London in 1977, initially as a band called Curved Air.  Members of Curved Air were invited to participate in a project called Strontium 90, which ultimately resulted in the creation of The Police.  When the membership of the band was settled, the trio consisted of Sting on vocals/bass, Andy Summers on guitar, and Stewart Copeland on drums.

On a shoe string budget, the Police released their first album, Outlandos d'Amour, in 1978.  The single "Roxanne" from this album caught the attention of A&M Records, and the group was offered a record deal.  Not only was "Roxanne" a hit from this album, but also the songs "Can't Stand Losing You" and "So Lonely".  Their follow-up release, Reggatta de Blanc, also did well, and featured the hit songs "Message in a Bottle" and "Walking on the Moon".

The Police kept the hits rolling into the 1980's.  Other songs you will remember include "Don't Stand So Close to Me" and "De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da" from Zenyatta Mondatta (1980), "Invisible Sun", "Everything Little Thing She Does is Magic", and "Spirits in the Material World" from Ghost in the Machine (1981), and "Every Breath You Take", "Wrapped Around Your Finger", and "Synchronicity II" from Synchronicity (1983).

After the Synchronicity tour ended in 1984, Sting embarked on a solo career.  The trio did continued playing some shows in the 80's, and had plans for a new studio album, but ultimately the band broke up for good and the trio members all went onto to solo careers.  In the late 2000's, the trio re-united for a world tour, but at the time of this writing, there had been little activity.  The Police Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any The Police track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1978: Outlandos d'Amour
  • 1979: Reggatta de Blanc
  • 1980: Zenyatta Mondatta
  • 1980: Six Pack
  • 1981: Ghost in the Machine
  • 1983: Synchronicity
  • 1986: Every Breath You Take: The Singles
  • 1990: Their Greatest Hits
  • 1992: Greatest Hits
  • 1993: Message in a Box: The Complete Recordings
  • 1995: Voices Inside My Head (Remixes)
  • 1995: Live!
  • 1995: Every Breath You Take: The Classics
  • 1997: The Very Best of Sting & The Police
  • 2007: The Police
  • 2008: Certifiable: Live in Buenos Aires
  • 2009: The 50 Greatest Songs