Richard Marx

Listen for free or download any Richard Marx track for just 12 cents per song!

Richard Marx Singer

Richard Marx was born to a musical family from Chicago, and by the time he was 5, he was singing commercial jingles coined by his father.  As the years rolled on on, Marx honed his skills.  Eventually, at 17, a demo tape of his work was heard by a receptive Lionel Richie, and Marx was invited to move to Los Angeles to work with Richie as a backup singer.  His eagerness to perform landed him in roles working backup for artists like Madonna, Whitney Houston, Luther Vandross, and Kenny Rogers.  Marx morphed into a very successful songwriter, and many of his songs became hits.

After years of working for others, Richard Marx finally landed a record deal with EMI, and after gathering up a crew of talented musicians, such as Joe Walsh and Fee Waybill (The Tubes), his self-titled debut hit shelves in 1987.  It was a major success, featuring four Billboard hits:  "Don't Mean Nothing", "Should've Known Better", "Endless Summer Nights", and "Hold On to the Nights".  And it did not end there, with his 1989 release, Repeat Offender, featuring ths hit songs "Right Here Waiting", "Angelia", "Too Late to Say Goodbye", and "Children of the Night".

As the 1990's rolled in, Marx continued the hits, especially on the rock charts.  Although Marx did continue with some rock chart success well into the 2000's and 2010's, he was never able to re-create his earlier success.  Nevertheless, Marx has continued to be very active.  The Richard Marx Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any Richard Marx track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1987: Richard Marx
  • 1989: Repeat Offender
  • 1991: Rush Street
  • 1991: Marx
  • 1993: Greatest Hits
  • 1994: Paid Vacation
  • 1994: Ballads
  • 1995: Channel V at the Hard Rock Live
  • 1997: Greatest Hits
  • 1997: Flesh and Bone
  • 1997: His Songs, Your Life
  • 2000: Days in Avalon
  • 2000: The Best of Richard Marx
  • 2000: The Essential Richard Marx
  • 2000: Timeline
  • 2004: My Own Best Enemy
  • 2004: Live Acoustic
  • 2006: Ringo Starr & His All Starr Band Live 2006
  • 2008: Duo with Matt Scannell
  • 2008: Emotional Remains
  • 2008: Sundown
  • 2009: The Music of Richard Marx: 1987–2009
  • 2010: Duo Live
  • 2010: Hits & Ballads
  • 2011: Stories to Tell
  • 2011: The Christmas EP
  • 2012: Inside My Head
  • 2012: Seven & Seven
  • 2012: A Night Out With Friends
  • 2012: Christmas Spirit