Tears for Fears

Listen for free or download any Tears for Fears track for just 12 cents per song!

Tears for Fears Band

The roots of Great Britain's Tears for Fears can be traced back to the band Neon, which ultimately split into two bands, Naked Eyes and a band called Graduate.  Graduate had some success in the early 80's, but eventually morphed into a band called History of Headaches (later changed to Tears for Fears) with Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith being the common denominator.

Tears for Fears released their first singles in 1981 and 1982 respectively, neither of which made a huge impact.  However, their third single, a song called "Mad World", did well in the UK, and was eventually released on their first full fledged album The Hurting (1983).  A couple of other UK popular songs from this release included the songs "Change" and "Pale Shelter".  It was the band's 1985 release that was their international breakout (Songs from the Big Chair).  You will remember the songs "Shout", "Everybody Wants to Rule the World", and "Head Over Heels".  Their 1989 release, The Seeds of Love, was not as successful, but still featured a few hit songs, including "Sowing the Seeds of Love", "Woman in Chains", and "Advice for the Young at Heart".

By the early 1990's, Smith had left the band, but Orzabal kept the ball rolling.  Tears for Fears continued producing well into the 1990's sans Smith.  However, in 2000, Smith was back, and Tears for Fears with the original duo continued their activity well into 2010's.  The Tears for Fears Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any Tears for Fears track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1983: The Hurting First
  • 1985: Songs from the Big Chair
  • 1986: Everybody Wants to Mix the World
  • 1989: The Seeds of Love
  • 1991: Flip
  • 1992: Tears Roll Down (Greatest Hits 82–92)
  • 1993: Elemental
  • 1995: Raoul and the Kings of Spain Fifth
  • 1996: Saturnine Martial & Lunatic B-sides and Rarities compilation
  • 2000: The Millennium Collection: The Best of Tears for Fears
  • 2001: Classic Tears for Fears
  • 2001: The Collection
  • 2001: The Working Hour: An Introduction to Tears for Fears
  • 2001: Shout: The Very Best of Tears for Fears
  • 2003: Tears for Fears: The Ultimate Collection
  • 2003: Collection
  • 2004: Everybody Loves a Happy Ending
  • 2006: Secret World - Live in Paris
  • 2006: Sowing the Seeds of Love: The Best of Tears for Fears
  • 2006: Gold
  • 2007: Famous Last Words: The Collection
  • 2010: Mad World: The Collection