Spinners, The

Listen for free or download any The Spinners track for just 12 cents per song!

The Spinners Band

The Spinners were an old school Motown band that played for so many years, that they managed to produce a few hits in the early 1980's before fading away.  The members of what would become the Spinners started playing together in the 1950's in Detroit.  The Spinners first hit the charts in the early 60's with the song "That's What Girls Are Made For".

It was really the decade of the 1970's when The Spinners produced the most hits.  There were a number of Billboard hits, and tons more R&B hits.  Focusing just on some of their better known 70's Billboard hits, songs you may remember include "It's a Shame", "I'll Be Around", "Could It Be I'm Falling in Love", "One of a Kind (Love Affair)", "Mighty Love", "I'm Coming Home", "Then Came You", "Love Don't Love Nobody", "Games People Play", and "The Rubberband Man".

By the time the 80's rolled around, it wasn't long before their flame began to peter out.  However, in 1980,  they had two major hits:  "Working My Way Back to You Babe" and "Cupid".  Although their last chart hit was in 1983, and hteir last studio album was in 1989, the Spinners have continued their activity well into the 2010's, although original members continue to pass on.  The Spinners Discography is as follows:

Listen for free or download any The Spinners track for just 12 cents per song!

  • 1967: The Original Spinners
  • 1970: 2nd Time Around
  • 1973: Spinners
  • 1973: The Best of the Spinners
  • 1974: Mighty Love
  • 1974: New and Improved
  • 1975: Live!
  • 1975: Pick of the Litter
  • 1976: Happiness Is Being With the Spinners
  • 1977: Yesterday, Today & Tomorrow
  • 1977: Spinners
  • 1977: Smash Hits
  • 1978: The Best of the Spinners
  • 1979: From Here to Eternally
  • 1979: Dancin' and Lovin'
  • 1980: Love Trippin'
  • 1981: Labor of Love
  • 1982: Can't Shake This Feelin'
  • 1982: Grand Slam
  • 1984: Cross Fire
  • 1985: Lovin' Feelings
  • 1989: Down to Business
  • 1991: A One of a Kind Love Affair: The Anthology
  • 1993: The Very Best of the Spinners
  • 1994: In Concert
  • 1997: The Very Best of the Spinners, Vol. 2
  • 2000: Their Early Years
  • 2001: Essential Collection
  • 2002: The Essentials
  • 2003: The Chrome Collection
  • 2006: The Definitive Soul Collection
  • 2007: The Platinum Collection
  • 2007: Live!
  • 2009: Are You Ready for Love? The Very Best of the Detroit Spinners